top of page

It's Not My Classroom...Is It?

When I walked into the school on Thursday, January 11th, the principal introduced herself and shook my hand in the hallway. My mentor teacher met me at the office and I was given a tour of the entire school right away. My mentor teacher also showed me her classroom and an entire desk space that she made for me. She assured me that the things in her classroom were mine too, and I felt more welcome than ever.

Relentless intrusive thoughts sped through my mind as I trekked through this unfamiliar situation. I've been told it's a biological response, but even logic and science didn't make it easier for me to dismiss these destructive thoughts. For some reason, the thought that made me panic the most was, "This is not my classroom. I know nothing about how this classroom works."

My brain had it right, this was not my classroom--this was my mentor teacher's classroom, and she designed the way it works. She made a space for me in her room, and I realized that this was an important thing to remember throughout my internship: this was not my classroom, but I had a place in it.

The intrusive thoughts don't bother me anymore after two days at the school, and I continue to remind myself to keep asking questions. From this point on, I will take ownership of my takeaways each day and quit worrying about whether or not I belong.

I would learn the way I fit into my role as a teacher-in-training while observing an educator who is much more experienced. I'm not required to be a full-on teacher yet. Long story short, it's not my classroom, but it is my experience, whatever kind of experience I decide to make it.

 

With that, I will share some of my learning moments so far:

1. Ask all faculty members questions and get to know them! You'll see them in passing mostly, but your mentor teacher is not the only person you will learn from.

2. During lunchtime, don't always sit next to your mentor teacher. Talk to other teachers and have conversations. You know, socialize.

3. Do not forget to talk to the students. Greet them when they enter and exit the room, break the ice a little. You don't have to get too deep, ask them what their t-shirt says.

4. Use your time to complete as many tasks as you can. When you are finished with tasks, ask for more to do. Don't be satisfied with the minimum.

5. SMILE and move on. Remember you are here to learn, and that no one expects you to know everything yet.


bottom of page